Stafrænn Hákon

Stafrænn Hákon band

Icelandic Post-Rock, Ambient with a melodic twist

Stafrænn Hákon Biography

Stafrænn Hákon (Icelandic pronunciation: [ˈstafraitn̥ ˈhaːukɔn]) is the stage name used by Icelandic musician Ólafur Josephsson. Ólafur has been making music on his own as Stafrænn Hákon since 1999. Stafrænn Hákon has released 8 full length albums and series of ep´s. Currently Stafrænn Hákon´s 9th full length album is being mixed and will be released in 2015. Stafrænn Hákon has through the last years been described as a mix of post-rock, lo-fi, ambient guitar & electronica which still holds true to some extent though he with each album takes a giant leap and keeps growing as a musician.

Stafrænn Hákon has collaborated with a broad range of artists and musicians and was aired at the late John Peel´s radio sessions amongst others. He has released material on The U.S based indie label Secret Eye, Resonant Records, Awkward Silence, Chat Blanc, Japanese Nature Bliss & Happy Prince as well on the Darla Records.

Stafrænn Hákon has continued sliding a comic or surreal twist in his songwriting since 1999, challenging the epic and dreamy connotations his music has always been ascribed with. Humour in combination with sincerity has long been some of Stafrænn Hákon´s driving forces, a twisted combination that reflects a personal nuance for those curious to dig deeper into the musical mindscape of the man behind the band.

The band´s current lineup consists of guitarists Ólafur Josephsson and Lárus Siguðsson, bass guitarist Árni Þór Árnason, drummer Róbert Már Runólfsson and singer Magnús Freyr Gíslason.